A Toast to 2017…

Image result for fireworks ireland

I’m not one for looking back or for dwelling over what might have been. Time spent wondering about things that are done, in the past and forever unchangeable has always seemed to me to be a pointless exercise… as well as an instrument of self-torture.

You cannot change what has happened so don’t bother wasting more time trying to. 

I’m inherently optimistic. So if something bad or unexpected happens or things just don’t turn out how you hoped they would, my approach is always to see what good can be taken from it and move forward, constructively and better. Just like a wise man once said:

“Ever tried. Ever failed. No matter. Try again. Fail again. Fail better.” (Samuel Beckett)

Image result for new year 2016 dublin
Dublin city in NYE is always good craic.

In short, 2016 has been a long year for me, full of adventure, new people and new experiences. I have loved all (with one or 2 exceptions 😉 – Is it ever any other way?) the new people I’ve had the pleasure of meeting and the many new friends I’ve made through work, clubs, races, etc. Not without its sad moments however, 2016 ushered in a few sad goodbyes too.

I am very excited about 2017 and I cannot wait to get cracking.

I start a new job in January and I’m proper excited to get stuck into a new, challenging role. Travel, holidays to new places, new races and the possibility of my first ever home of my own… I can’t wait for it all.

What I Want Out of 2017 (maybe…)

  • Sit the NY Bar exam (Will they ever approve my foreign qualifications? Please?)
  • Get my own place (if the above doesn’t happen!)
  • Take a road trip in USA. Stay in motels. Eat ribs and grits.
  • Get strong. I have zero upper body strength or any strength in general. I could run and cycle all day but ask me to do a single press-up and I can’t get off the floor.
  • Explore my own country. I’ve been to so many places around Ireland but there are just so many other places yet to be explored. It’s shameful. 2017 is going to involve at a minimum, trips to Derry, Belfast, Killarney and more mountain climbing everywhere.

 

Be kind to yourself tomorrow as you ring in the New Year, wherever you are and whatever you’re doing. Don’t beat yourself up or get stuck on the “what-might-have-beens”.

We are none of us perfect, without flaws or free from moments we wish we should have done better.

We will not be at our best every moment, of every day.

We will not always say the right thing or do the correct things.

We will say stupid things when tired and make wrong decisions because we think it will help someone else.

We will be misunderstood, misunderestimated and mistaken all the time.

Accept this and remember it in your kindness to others. Without getting too heavy here, I just think if people were all a bit more considerate, tolerant and kinder to each other, the world would be a much nicer place to live in. It doesn’t take much and it can mean the world of difference to someone else.

And you know, as Helen Mirren recently said in the Hollywood blockbuster Collateral Beauty…

Just be sure to notice the collateral beauty.”

Happy new year, enjoy the celebrations whatever you’re doing and just be sure that whatever you do in 2017, however small or grand your plans are, don’t forget to take notice of the… 😉

Leave a Reply

