My Christmas Movies

my christas movies

I eat, sleep and breathe movies. If God suddenly decided to add 2 more hours to every day, I would spend it watching movies. I’ve just realised that I never write about this special love of my life at all on this blog, probably down to it being an eating and running blog… but movies are a big part of who I am and to ignore this side of me would be like to cut off my left arm and then act like it’s still really there. I’m rambling. I like movies.

There are soooooooo many Christmas movies out there in 2015, the classics, the not-so-classics-but-still-enjoyables, the ones not to waste your time on and the newbies. I’m sure there are still some out there that I haven’t seen yet but I’ve watched quite a few and this is my current Christmas watchlist:

1. The Family Stone. An ensemble cast, it’s funny, it’s emotional, it’s heart-warming and everything you want from a Christma movie. I watch it every year.

2. Arthur Christmas. This is a serious contender for the no.1 spot. I went to see it in the cinema with my niece when it first came out and I enjoyed it more than she did. Very funny and a great, great movie.

3. The Santa Clause. Tim Allen as the reluctant Santa Clause. A cozy way to spend the afternoon tucked up on the couch watching this and getting in the ho ho ho mood.

4. Home Alone. Some people seem to have a serious aversion to seeing this on a Christmas movie list but I unashamedly love it. McCauley Culkin whooping ass, just as we all thought we were capable of when we were kids.

5. It’s a Wonderful Life. Okay, this is not at all an original inclusion. In fact, it’s probably on every Christmas movie list that ever was but that would be for good reason. It’s a classic and one to be respected. It really is wonderful.

6. The Snowman. Honestly, I could happily NOT watch this. No, rather what I mean is that I could happily watch this with my eyes shut and just listen to the music. Beautiful, haunting music that never gets old. I love when Christmas comes around just so I have an excuse to play the score on the piano- my brother does not appreciate it when I play it in July 😉

7. A Muppet’s Christmas Carol. You’ll have to forgive me if you’re a loyal Dickens’ fan but I prefer this to the original. I really do feel for Kermit. I always find an obliging child to watch this with over the holidays.

8. Miracle on 34th Street. I believe. Do you?

9. Jingle All the Way. This is not the greatest Christmas movie ever or really any kind of great movie. It’s Schwarzenegger racing around on Christmas Eve trying to find the perfect gift for his son which is sold out everywhere. BUT I like it. It feels Christmassy and it really is quite enjoyable.

10. Gone with the Wind. This is not a Christmas movie, I don’t care what anyone says but it is a great movie, in every sense of the word and the reason I include it here is because it’s so epically long that the only time of the year that you’re likely to have enough time to watch is during the Christmas holidays. If you haven’t seen it, nab yourself an afternoon and pop this into the DVD player.

What’s your favourite Christmas movie?

Do you like watching Christmas movies or are you someone who avoids them?

2 thoughts on “My Christmas Movies

  1. Great list!! I’m afraid to say that I haven’t seen Gone With the Wind and would love to at some point. One of my favorite during the holidays not on your list is Scrooged with Bill Murray. It’s a great remake of A Christmas Carol. 🙂 Have a great week and enjoy the holiday! Merry Christmas!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I actually only got around to watching Gone With the Wind last year- cold afternoon, big fire, it was lovely! I haven’t seen Scrooged yet but thanks for the tip, I’ll def try to get it in this week. Merry Christmas to you & your lovely family too!

      Like

Leave a Reply

