Halloween Down Time

Halloween '15

Happy Halloween! The spooktacular festival has finally arrived and before I start binge-watching all of the scary movies I have lined up for this evening, I thought it would nice to share some snippets of my Halloween joy…thus far šŸ˜‰

Volunteering at the local parkrun:

Still officially resting after the Dublin marathon 5 days ago, I thought it would be a good opportunity to help out at the local parkrun in Naas and it happened to be a perfect morning for a Halloween run. Halloween jellies and costumes on the course was just the right kind of start to the day!

Coffee at the Naas Farmer’s Market:

…with some of the gang from the parkrun was made more fun than usual today being chatted up by a 3 year old batman (complete with bat-bike and helmet!) and a 7 year old Count Dracula. No one really knew what the pecking order was however, when the blue power ranger showed up…

Naas F Market

Random Food:Ā 

I picked up a jar of homemade chili and red pepper relish from this nice fella, and have high hopes of experimenting with it… starting with perhaps a chicken salad sandwich. High hopes.

Charming preserve man selling his wares!
Charming preserve man selling his wares! (This is not my photo – I didn’t want to creep him out.)

Tarte au Citron:

Being such a nice October morning, myself and mother walked up the town to get the weekend newspaper and a few buns and I walked away from Swan’s On The GreenĀ withĀ (because it’s impossible hard toĀ walk away from this charming treasure without anything)Ā one of these gloriously pretty pastries:

lemon-curd-tart

It looked massive and in my head, I had put one half of it away for tomorrow. But then suddenly I found myself looking at this:

If I stare long enough at the bottom, maybe another one will appear...It is halloween after all.
If I stare long enough at the bottom, maybe another one will appear…It is halloween after all.

Pumpkin Carving

Duh.

Pumpkin '15

Books

As some of you already know, I’m a bit of a reader and have just finishedĀ Seven Deadly Sins: My Pursuit of Lance ArmstrongĀ (review to follow shortly). I’m also nearly finished Charles Dickens’Ā A Bleak HouseĀ (that is I am 600 odd pages into a 900 page book…seriously?!) and I have just started into the notorious 4th edition of Stieg Larsson’sĀ MillenniumĀ Series – The Girl in the Spider’s Web. Loving books at the moment and can’t line them up fast enough. Blessed marathon down time and excuses for long baths to not move for hours and just read, read, read. And eat lemon tarts šŸ˜€

Happy and safe Halloween to one and all!

Do you like scary movies? šŸ™‚

2 thoughts on “Halloween Down Time

Leave a Reply

