Running Through Leaves

xocolate ATELIER (1)

I love autumn. It’s a hard decision but if it came down to it, it would probably fall (ahem…) in as my favourite season, not that I spend much time thinking about what my favourite season is… but to be fair, it’s a very lovable season.

Running: Running during the summer months is beautiful and if you’re a pale, Irish lass like me, you pick up a nice tan/ freckle line on your arms and legs from where running shorts/ singlets begin and end. If you’re super lucky, you might even develop a running short freckle line AND a cycling short freckle line. Seriously, I have three different colours on my legs. I’m a walking flag. But summer running is harder – all hot, sweaty and just a whole other beast compared with normal running.

Leaf Runner

Autumn running is like a sweet release into fresh air. Oxygen aplenty, cool air to breathe in and I don’t feel the need to strip halfway through my run. It’s the happy middle-ground between summer and winter. As if Goldilocks had arranged it, not too hot and not cold. 
Leaves on ground

Leaves: Running through leaves, the sound of them underfoot as I’m plodding through the countryside, looking at their kaleidoscope of colours in trees, on the ground, wherever… Love it all. Haven’t yet managed to build a happy pile and jump into it but we still have October…

Leaves in the trees... leaves on the ground... s'all leaves. S'all good.
Leaves in the trees… leaves on the ground… s’all leaves. S’all good.

A Log Fire: This has got to be one of the most primitive things but it rocks my world, possibly as much as it did the cavefolk who discovered it for the first time. I would sit in front of a log fire all day if that were an option. Sad confession warning: I silently wait out spring and summer for the temperatures to drop again just so I can light up again. Pyromaniac in the house.

Baths: Everything I said for fires totally translates to hot baths. Obviously, being discovered by the cavefolk doesn’t apply nor does sitting in front of one all day.

Because no bath is the same without candles. Or bubbles for that matter.
Because no bath is the same without candles. Or bubbles for that matter.

Butternut Squash: Okay, so it is available all year round because that’s the convenience/ consumer-driven world we live in, but pumpkin season is like an official license to eat as much butternut squash/ every other type of the cucurbita I can find. Roasted, steamed, spiralized, souped, risottoed, baked, chipped, whatever form it comes in, I’m at the end of it.

Best of friends. With me, I mean.
Best of friends. With me, I mean.

Halloween: Ireland may not celebrate Halloween enough but I do! Even though Halloween is thought to have originated from Ireland and Scotland, from the Celtic festival of Samhain, it’s our American friends who seem to throw the biggest party and know how to celebrate it. I’m a horror movie buff, I love a good ghost story and I rope in everyone around me to get good n’ spooked.

Do you like scary movies? Sorry, couldn't resist- I'm a child of the 90's after all.
Do you like scary movies? Sorry, couldn’t resist- I’m a child of the 90’s after all.

Dublin Marathon: I bang on about the Dublin Marathon a lot in this blog but it’s because I love this race, the bank holiday weekend and the whole time surrounding it. My favourite time of the year, hands down.

WP_20150919_001

Hot Drinks: Is it just me or do they all just taste better when the weather starts to get cooler and wetter? Pumpkin pie latte? Don’t mind if I do.

Thanks Insomnia Coffee for the first pumpkin pie latte of the year, free to loyalty card holders!
Thanks Insomnia Coffee for the first pumpkin pie latte of the year, free to loyalty card holders!

Happy autumn to one and all!

Well, you need a toffee apple muffin to complement the coffee. Duh.
Well, you need a toffee apple muffin to complement the coffee. Duh.
One thought on “Running Through Leaves

Leave a Reply

