London Bound!

I'm Going on Holidays! (1)

I was lucky enough to get a surprise plane ticket to London for my birthday from my family and today is the day I fly out! My older (not that much older… πŸ˜‰ ) cousin lives in the Barbican area in London and I will be staying with her wonderful self and her husband for just over one week.

I am sooooo excited and have a gizillion things planned for the next week, not least of which are the variety of different run routes I have mapped out for the coming week. This is a great way to explore a new area and get your bearings, particularly in a city and frankly, I cannot wait. It feels more exciting than Christmas!

As I am in the middle of training for the Dublin marathon, which takes place at the end of October, it’s an important time in terms of building up the miles so I can’t afford to just take a week off. So it’s not that I’m being a big running nerd, it’s more that I don’t want to mess up the training at this point and pay the price later. Actually, no. I am a big running nerd. I’ve photocopied maps, highlighted routes… you should see the vast array of colours, highlighters and stationery that have gone into these maps! It’s gonna be grrrrreat πŸ˜€ So excited about writing about my adventures around London, which I will keep you updated on.

In the spirit of being a running nerd, I’m also planning to visit some of London’s really cool running stores, which we seriously lack in Ireland. Kid in a candy store is all I’m saying. I will definitely be writing up my experiences here too.

As well as being a little running obsessed, I’m also big into my coffee and have shortlisted some of the (allegedly) great coffee spots in London to visit, as well as some delicious looking brunch locations. If any of you have any more suggestions, I’d be delighted to try them out too!

Obviously, I will also just be a big embarrassing tourist for the week and am hoping to cram in as much good tourist stuff as my purse will stretch to. If anyone has any suggestions or insider tips, I would love to hear them!

London baby!!!

One thought on “London Bound!

Leave a Reply

